Why I’m raising money & awareness for Mind at next weeks Pamper & Shop

Next week will be the second of this years Pamper & Shop events, last months was a huge success and I’m hoping they continue to grow from strength to strength. I get to work alongside over 20 amazing local traders and in doing so am able to pull us all together to make a little bit of a difference whilst spoiling women with treatments, shopping & an indulgent fun evening. At each event we hold a charity raffle, as well as a chance for me to shout out and rave about the businesses that are involved, I get to tell a crowd if people the difference a charities work can make and raise money to help in the process.

20141016-103347.jpg
Next Thursdays event I’ve chosen to raise money for Dartford, Gravesham & Swanley Mind. As a charity they do amazing work but locally I know 5 people (plus myself) that they have provided help and support to in the last month!

I don’t hide my battle with depression, it’s been ongoing for 12 years, like many it hasn’t been one thing. It’s been the stress strain of everyday life, confidence and self worth battles, trying to find myself and ways I cope, it’s been really hard at times; when I have lost people or gone through trauma. There is a lot of shit that over the last 8 weeks of counselling sessions that I have been gaining power over and letting go. Im so proud of myself and how far I’ve come! I’m not there yet and I will still have days of what I call “Pity Parties” but the fact is, the help of my counsellor has made me able to manage those days, manage myself, take control over my mind and those nagging little voices of self doubt and shit stuff! Their resources are so over stretched they have so many people referring themselves and being referred to them plus they offer community services like drop ins and group sessions, housing, education, advise and care for people caring with mental health, I just want to do a little bit to help and show my admiration.

20141016-103858.jpg
I’d love if you can be there, here are the event details Pamper & Shop October, if you can’t but want to donate to the raffle or buy tickets please get in touch, I feel really passionate about making a difference whilst providing people with a wonderful evening.

xoxo >

Leave a Reply

