My Top 5 things about being a Bridal Make Up Artist

1. The buzz starts with the first moment I meet the bride, there is nothing more exciting then meeting someone planning their special day. The first time I meet them is usually at the trial, I love going through my portfolio discussing their likes and dislikes and ideas for what they want to create the perfect look. We then play …. Lots until we achieve that wow moment when she looks in the mirror.

2.my make up kit is huge having been in the industry for nearly ten years, having worked with some of the top make up houses such as Christian Dior & Estée Lauder plus having a serious beauty obsession means my kit is huge! (yet highly organised.)
20121103-212812.jpg

3. The Day the laughter, the emotions, the giggles, the Buck’s Fizz and last minute hiccups I love it all, Yes on a professional level I’m there as a make up artist but more often than not it comes back to that buzz of being involved in something so special! I have been known to help in anyway I can tying dresses, putting on shoes all sorts me but its fabulous just fabulous!

4. Seeing The Photographs whilst I’m slow updating my website gallery I love when a bride sends me a link for her photographers album, the natural shots are always my favourite after all I’m a make up artist who believes in enhancing the brides natural beauty and always feel these photos capture the look, emotions and everything about the day best. Just look at this bride below, not a lot of make up needed just natural perfection, isn’t she beautiful!

20121103-215108.jpg

5. The compliments It’s a big choice for a bride to pick me, and i think its a massive deal. Not because I don’t think I’m good enough I know I am, I have been enjoying my job for years and am always practising and developing my knowledge. It’s a big deal because this is one of the biggest days of their lives and they want me to be involved! I think it is one of the most blessed and complimentary parts of my job. I also am greatful for the wonderful feedback I recieve, it’s lovely to be a memory in such a special day.

20121103-213106.jpg

2 responses

  1. I love the natural look you did for the bride in the pictures you posted. I agree with you that it must be a compliment to be part of her special day. I work at a bakery right now, and that is how I feel when cake decorators bring out the wedding cakes… like in some small way I am also part of their lives.

Leave a Reply

